MedBiquitous June 2016 Newsletter

1. Annual Conference Presentations and Recap 

Presentations from the MedBiquitous Annual Conference are now available. Board Chair Dr. Craig Campbell set the tone with a warm welcome, and Dr. Peter Greene followed with an update on MedBiquitous standards development and implementations that allow us to look across educational programs and bring learner data together. Dr. Anderson Spickard III wowed the audience with an overview of Vanderbilt's cutting edge infrastructure for competency-based, individualized learning and program evaluation. In the panel on Meaningful Practice, Dr. Redonda Miller, newly-appointed President of The Johns Hopkins Hospital, emphasized the importance of engaging clinicians in the design process and aligning with things they care about. Dr. Sean McCormick of Epic then showcased Epic's work to get meaningful data into the hands of clinicians and efforts supporting a more streamlined workflow around the electronic medical record. 

The Innovation Demonstrations that followed offered a peek at some amazing technologies, including the Department of Veteran's Affairs Virtual Medical Center and the ACCME's PARS system, among others. Dr. Craig Campbell then lead the group in an exploration of the ways in which technology can support feedback and improvement within social and educational contexts. Dr. Peter Greene and Luke Woodham led a discussion about disruptive innovations impacting simulation and feedback. Attendees ended the day with good food, good company, and a lovely view during the networking dinner at McCormick and Schmick's.

The next day started with terrific panel sessions on learning innovations and research, analytics and continuous improvement, portfolios, data standards, and virtual patients. At the Philip Dodds Memorial Lecture, Dr. David Topps gave an insightful and entertaining presentation on hybrid approaches to learning, describing how technologies can be used for more effective remediation, sometimes in unanticipated ways. Amy Opalek, Johmarx Patton, and Joshua Jacobs left us with a thoughtful summary, noting the importance of human centered design, the opportunities offered by analytics, and the risk that all this collaboration might put us in danger of having really good ideas. The conference ended with engaging and informative workshops on experience analytics, curriculum inventory, virtual patient design, and standards implementation. 

Many thanks to the speakers and participants who made the conference such a success! Special thanks to our sponsors, the American Osteopathic Association, CECity, Knowledge4You, and USMLE Rx, all of whom provided outstanding support.

2. Save the Date! June 5-6, 2017 

The MedBiquitous Annual Conference 2017 will be held June 5-6, 2017 in Baltimore, Maryland. A MedBiquitous Orientation will take place Sunday, June 4. 

Further announcements regarding abstract submission, registration, housing, and the program will be made via this newsletter mailing list. If you have colleagues that would be interested in participating, tell them to subscribe to our mailing list using the subscription form on our website or the information in the footer of this newsletter.

3. Board of Directors Update 

The MedBiquitous Board of Directors welcomes Dr. Craig Campbell as its new chair and Dr. Marc Triola as a new member of the Board. Dr. Campbell is Director of Continuing Professional Development at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. Dr. Triola is Associate Dean for Educational Informatics at New York University School of Medicine. We are grateful to have their leadership and support! Dr. David Nichols moves to the role of Immediate Past Chair.

4. Awards and more awards!  

From the Department of Veterans Affairs: Dr. Rosalyn Scott, MD

We are proud to report that Dr. Rosalyn Scott, Medical Advisor to the Deputy Chief Learning Officer of the VHA Employee Education System and member of the MedBiquitous Board of Directors, received the Veteran's Health Administration Under Secretary for Health Excellence in Clinical Simulation Training, Education and Research Practice Award during the MedBiquitous Annual Conference. The award was presented by Harry Robinson, the Veterans Health Administration National Program Manager for Simulation Learning Education and Research Network. Dr. Scott's work has had a lasting impact on workforce education across the VA. Congratulations on a well-deserved award, Dr. Scott!

Two awards were conferred by MedBiquitous as well.

Leadership Award: David Nichols, MD, MBA

Dr. Nichols is the CEO of the American Board of Pediatrics and Immediate Past Chair of the MedBiquitous Board of Directors. As Chair of the Board of Directors, Dr. Nichols oversaw a restructuring of the MedBiquitous membership model and the development and implementation of a business plan that has had a tremendous impact on the organization. His insights, hard work, and leadership have made the organization more effective and more sustainable. Congratulations, Dr. Nichols, and thank you for your continued leadership!

Innovators Award: Dan Rehak, PhD

Dr. Rehak has been a longtime member of the MedBiquitous Technical Steering Committee, contributing tremendously to the technical guidelines that have shaped all of our standards development efforts. His input was particularly important in shaping Healthcare LOM, a foundational standard of the MedBiquitous Architecture. We thank Dr. Rehak for sharing his technical expertise and wish him the best in his retirement!

5. Membership Update

MedBiquitous welcomes as new members the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the American Osteopathic Information Association, d'Vinci Interactive, ECS, Elsevier, New Innovations, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, The Salus Group, University of California, San Francisco, and University of Wisconsin. We also thank the following organizations for signing on as Sustaining Members: the American Board of Pediatrics, the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates, Knowledge4You Corp., Kynectiv, the SALUS Group, and the University of Michigan.